Weekly Racing Round Up – w.e 6th January – Yorkshire XC Champs, Captain Cooks…

—Yorkshire Cross Country Championships – Sat 5th Jan.                  Results tbc.

Lightwater Valley was once again the venue for the Yorkshire Champs’, the rolling parkland within the  massive The Ultimate rollercoaster, providing  a speedy and largely dry course.
Knavesmire’s Ladies were going into their 8km race brimming with confidence after winning the West Yorkshire League , but now the stakes were that bit higher.

Facing of against the best teams in the County the YKH Ladies did fantastically well , the A  team ( first 4 to finish ) were 4th a great improvement on last years 14th and the B team ( next 4 ) were 7th, beating many other club’s A teams in the process. We also had a C team 18th and a D team 35th , in all we had over 20 women running , some for the first time who we hope to see again !

8th Helen Cross
11th Nik Tarrega
21st Becky Penty
35th Aoife Burke

41st Lucy Pinder
50th Megan Thompson
51st Emily Baines
71st Laura Schofield

73rd Clare Rowntree
76th Madeleine Foot
90th ? Wilson
108th Jane Nodder

129th Mandy Clarke
133rd Qin Zhou
141st Abbie Spence
162nd Caitlin Clark

163rd Angela Shepherd
168th Jenny Steele
173rd Jane Morby
179th Liz Matthews

186th Hannah Strange

Knavesmire’s Men were also very well represented at the Championships, the Yellow and Black Quarters were definitely the most likely vest to be seen.

19th Kim Critchley
66th Chris Roberts
103rd Richard Purser
110th Nick Zissler
112th Tom Ratcliffe
127th Rob Ward                               A team 10th

128th Toby Hone
133rd Peter Walker
141st Darren Hendley
150th Simon Collins
155th Danny Chan
158th Rory Henderson                   B team  19th

171st Barry Atkinson
189th Richard Tarrega
206th Phillip Richardson
212th Martyn Rennison
213th Pete Downes
242nd  James Sampford              C team 29th

243rd Andrew Clark
250th Tom Cowham
253rd Tristan Watson
257th Andrew Johnson
269th Chris Murphy
288th Ian Fairlamb                   D team 36th

292nd Stephen Jobson
301st John Nodder
305th Alistair McQueen
307th Ade Thear
314th Duncan Chambers

Many more photos on the Ykh Facebook group page

—Captains Cook Fell Race – New Years Day.

A great way to start the year , a sprint up from Great Ayton to Captain Cooks Monument on the Moor above , followed by some crazy descents back to the finish.

Nik Tarrega started the year with victory in the Ladies Category.

15th Nik Tarrega  1st Lady  35.30
16th Tom Ratcliffe 35.31
33rd Simon Collins 36.50
40th  Callum Sewell      37.23
45th Barry Atkinson  37.39 1st M55
47th Richard Tarrega  37.41
81st Philip Richardson 39.46
87th Rory Henderson 39.55
124 Oli Read  42.37
133rd Cassie Read  43.47
160th Andy Chapman Gibbs 45.15
255th Petra Chapman Gibbs  52.00
273th  Jim Richards  52.55
320th Saskia Chapman Gibbs 58.53

—Commondale Clart Fell Race – Sun 7th Jan.


12th  Richard Purser  41.06
23rd Callum Sewell 42.34
30th Barry Atkinson 43.24
59th Cassie Read  48.43
75th Andy Chapman Gibbs  51.03
108th Petra Chapman Gibbs 58.26

—York Parkrun – New Years Day.

656 participants, 70 from YKH ( 10.7 % ).

York parkrun PB’s for :

Dick Hunter 26:09
Emily Asquith-Fox 23:59
Alam Wilkinson 21:10
Daniel Reece-Loram 19:15
David Smithers 16:57

—York Parkrun – 5th Jan.

638 participants , 40 from YKH ( 6.3 % ).

York parkrun PB’s for :

Dick Hunter 25:55

—Heslington Parkrun – New Years Day.

581 participants, 59 from YKH ( 10.1 % ), many YKH runners took the opportunity to run both parkruns.

Heslington parkrun PB’s for:

Clare Moffat 29:08
Jane Morby 25:44
Duncan Chambers 25:15
Jenny Steele 24:46
Ellie Page 22:44
Alan Wilkinson 21:43
Jason Newman 19:54
Andrew Tomlinson 19:27
Andy Holladay 19:08

—Heslington Parkrun – 5th Jan.

366 participants, 32 from YKH ( 8.7 % ).

Heslington parkrun PB’s for :

Andrew Lowson 19:05

—New Earswick Parkrun – 5th Jan .

72 participants, 6 from YKH (  8.3 % ).

New Earswick Parkrun PB for :

Mark Robinson 21:11


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube